NRC Research Associate Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies - NETL/MHFP

Opportunity at Methane Hydrates Fellowship Program (NETL/MHFP)

Methane Hydrates Research Opportunity

Location

Methane Hydrates

RO# Location
AH.00.00.B9001 Pittsburgh, PA

Please note: This Agency only participates in the February and August reviews.

Advisers

name email phone
Viney Aneja VINEY_ANEJA@NCSU.edu 919-515-7808
Panagiotis Christofides pdc@seas.ucla.edu (310) 794-1015
Frederick Colwell rcolwell@coas.oregonstate.edu 541-737-5220
Brandon Dugan dugan@mines.edu 303.273.3512
Derek Dunn-Rankin ddunnran@uci.edu
Noémie Elgrishi noemie@lsu.edu
Peter B. Flemings pflemings@jsg.utexas.edu 512-475-8738
Aysegul Gunduz agunduz@bme.ufl.edu 352.273.6877
Matthias Hess mhess@ucdavis.edu 530.752.8809
J Nathan Hohman jnhohman@lbl.gov 510.486.6155
Shragge Jeffrey jshragge@mines.edu
Ruben Juanes juanes@mit.edu 617.253.7191
JW Jurss jwjurss@olemiss.edu 662.915.2003
Deranda Lesdter dbrewer@memphis.edu 901.849.4668
Jordan Peccia jordan.peccia@yale.edu
Jessica Peraza jperaza@nu.edu 310-662-2130
Yair Rosenthal rosentha@marine.rutgers.edu 848.932.3402
Derek E. Sawyer sawyer.114@osu.edu 614.292.7243
Evan Solomon esolomn@washington.edu 206.221.6745
William Waite wwaite@USGS.gov 508-457-2346

Description

There are no specific Research Opportunities or Advisers, as methane hydrates research can be performed at any Federal laboratory or accredited University.

With respect to the energy production potential of gas hydrates, interest is in projects that will provide improved tools, methods, and information relative to the remote detection, characterization, and appraisal of production potential of methane hydrates.

With respect to gas hydrates as a part of the global environment, interest is in projects that provide an improved understanding of the processes that control the distribution, occurrence, and stability of gas hydrates in marine and permafrost settings.

For details, please see the NETL Methane Hydrates Fellowship Programs and An Interagency Roadmap for Methane Hydrate Research and Development.

 

Keywords:
Methane hydrates;

Eligibility

Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Graduate, Doctoral, and Postdoctoral Applicants

Stipend

Base Stipend Travel Allotment Supplementation
$60,000.00 $6,000.00

The Base Stipend which you see first, applies to Postdoctoral applicants only.

 

Masters Program Level:

$30,000 Base Stipend

$15,000 Supplement for Research Supplies

$1,000 Annual Experience Increment for Year Two

 

PhD Program Level: 

$35,000 Base Stipend

$20,000 Supplement for Research Supplies

$1,500 Annual Experience Increment for Year Two and Three

 

Postdoctoral Program Level:

$60,000 Base Stipend

$25,000 Supplement for Research Supplies 

$2,000 Annual Experience Increment for Year Two 

Experience Supplement:
Postdoctoral Associates will receive an appropriately higher stipend based on the number of years of experience past their PhD.

Copyright © 2022. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.Terms of Use and Privacy Policy