NRC Research Associate Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies - NIST

  sign inOpen Printer View

Opportunity at National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Optical Properties of Materials

Location

Physical Measurement Laboratory, Sensor Science Division

RO# Location
50.68.51.B7542 Gaithersburg, MD

Please note: This Agency only participates in the February and August reviews.

Advisers

name email phone
John H. Burnett john.burnett@nist.gov 301.975.2679
Thomas Avery Germer thomas.germer@nist.gov 301.975.2876
Steven E. Grantham grantham@nist.gov 301.975.5528
Leonard M. Hanssen hanssen@nist.gov 301.975.2344
Maritoni Litorja litorja@nist.gov 301.975.8095
C. Cameron Miller c.miller@nist.gov 301.975.4713
Heather Jean Patrick heather.patrick@nist.gov 301.975.4684
Eric L. Shirley eric.shirley@nist.gov 301.975.2349

Description

Research opportunities are available to advance the measurement of properties of materials from the terahertz to extreme ultraviolet for applications in remote sensing, nanoscale science, microelectronics, photonics, color and appearance, medical imaging, homeland security, and defense. State-of-the-art research instruments are available for accurate measurement of such optical properties as reflectance, transmittance, scattering, emittance, and fluorescence in a variety of geometries using laser, lamp, and blackbody radiation sources. Specialized capabilities exist for light scattering ellipsometry, index of refraction, optical grating scatterometry, bidirectional optical scattering and reflectometry, polarimetry, spectroscopy, emissometry, and retroreflectometry. We are interested in efforts that develop new or improved measurement capabilities, standards, or applications.

For more information, see https://www.nist.gov/pml/sensor-science/optical-properties-materials

Keywords:
Reflectance; Transmittance; Spectroscopy; Optical scattering; Refractive index; Scatterometry; Fluorescence; Absorptance; Emittance; Emissivity; THz; Ellipsometry; BRDF; Polarimetry; Reflectometry; Photonics; Imaging; Refraction; Color; Appearance; Diffuse; Blackbody; Bidirectional; Spectrophotometer; Retroreflection; Terahertz; Infrared; Ultraviolet; Birefringence

Eligibility

Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Postdoctoral applicants

Stipend

Base Stipend Travel Allotment Supplementation
$74,950.00 $3,000.00
Copyright © 2022. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.Terms of Use and Privacy Policy