NRC Research Associate Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies - NIST

  sign inOpen Printer View

Opportunity at National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Neutron Reflectometry

Location

NIST Center for Neutron Research

RO# Location
50.61.01.B1994 Gaithersburg, MD

Please note: This Agency only participates in the February and August reviews.

Advisers

name email phone
Julie A. Borchers julie.borchers@nist.gov 301.975.6597
Joseph A. Dura joseph.dura@nist.gov 301.975.6251
Alexander Grutter alexander.grutter@nist.gov 301-975-4198
Brian J Kirby bkirby@nist.gov 301.975.8395
Charles F. Majkrzak charles.majkrzak@nist.gov 301.975.5251
Sushil K. Satija sushil.satija@nist.gov 301.975.5250

Description

We use neutron reflectometry to study a variety of fundamental physical and chemical phenomena at solid-solid, liquid-liquid, solid-liquid, and solid- or liquid-gas interfaces. By measuring the specular reflectivity as a function of glancing angle, we can determine both chemical and magnetic density profiles normal to the surface. We can also measure nonspecular scattering, from which we can derive in-plane information. Systems of interest include polymer films, magnetic thin films and multilayered structures (using polarized beams), superconducting films (magnetic penetration depth measurements), lipid bilayers, Langmuir-Blodgett films, metal hydride films, and electrochemical surfaces (in situ studies in active cells).

 

Keywords:
Interfaces; Reflectance; Thin films;

Eligibility

Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Postdoctoral applicants

Stipend

Base Stipend Travel Allotment Supplementation
$74,950.00 $3,000.00
Copyright © 2022. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.Terms of Use and Privacy Policy