Policy and Global Affairs, Fellowships OfficeThe National Academies Logo

RAP Lab Opportunities at AFRL

  Sign In Printable View

Associateship Programs at Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL)

This page provides specific information about areas of research at AFRL.

  • Use the navigation on the left to explore individual opportunities at AFRL.
  • Click www.afrl.af.mil to learn more about Air Force Research Laboratory
  • View the Program Brochure
  • Click About RAP to learn more about the Research Associateship Programs at the NRC.

When to Apply

This Agency participates in all reviews.

Click How to Apply for information about reviews and review deadlines.

Eligibility

Click General Eligibility Criteria for overall eligibility criteria for the RAP program.

Citizenship:
Research opportunities at AFRL have varying citizenship requirements:
•  Open to U.S. citizens: Aerospace Systems Directorate
•  Open to U.S. citizens and permanent residents: Air Force Research Laboratory

Level:
Research opportunities at AFRL are open to Regular and Senior applicants.

Click About RAP - Levels for a definition of each level.

Please note: Eligiblity requirements can vary for each research opportunity; be sure to check the specific opportunities in which you are interested.

Stipend

Base Stipend Travel Allotment Supplementation
$74,000 $3,500

$3,000 Supplement for Doctorates in Engineering & Computer Science

Experience Supplement:
Postdoctoral and Senior Associates will receive an appropriately higher stipend based on the number of years of experience past their PhD.

All Associates will receive a stipend increase after one year of tenure.

Additional Information About Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL)

AFRL - Materials and Manufacturing Directorate requires that all US legal permanent residents send a copy of their Resident Alien Card (green card) to the Research Associateship Programs office at the time of application. If the Resident Alien Card is not provided, the application will not be processed, and will be removed from further consideration.

Contacts

Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) - Arlington , VA
Ms. Ellen Montgomery 703.588.8527 ellen.montgomery@us.af.mil
Mrs. Leslie Peasant 703.696.7316 leslie.peasant@afosr.af.mil
Neville A. Thompson 703.588.1779 Neville.Thompson@us.af.mil
711 Human Performance Wing - Wright-Patterson AFB, OH
Mr. Michael J. Griffin 937.255.7629 michael.griffin@wpafb.af.mil
Dr. David Luginbuhl 937.255.0416 david.luginbuhl@us.af.mil
Mr. Mike Reynolds 937.255.7629 mike.reynolds.ctr@us.af.mil
Aeronautical Research Center - US Air Force Academy, CO
Prof. Thomas E. McLaughlin 719 333 2613 tom.mclaughlin@usafa.edu
Aerospace Systems Directorate - Wright-Patterson AFB, OH
Dr. Edwin Forster 937.255.4875 edwin.forster@wpafb.af.mil
Dr. Frank S. Gulczinski 937 938 4805 frank.gulczinski@us.af.mil
Dr. Siva Banda 937.938.4997 Siva.Banda@wpafb.af.mil
Dr. Tae-Woo Park 661.275.5424 Taewoo.park@edwards.af.mil
Air Force Inst of Technology - Wright-Patterson AFB, OH
Dr. Heidi R. Ries 937.255.3633 heidi.ries@afit.edu
Col. Michael Caylor 937.255.3636 Michael.Caylor@afit.edu
Directed Energy Directorate - Kirtland AFB, NM
Dr. Diana L Loree 505.846.5261 diana.loree@kirtland.af.mil
Dr. Robert E. Peterkin 505.846.0862 Robert.peterkin@us.af.mil
Information Directorate - Rome, NY
Mr. John Graniero 315.330.3251 john.graniero.ctr@us.af.mil
Dr. Richard W. Linderman 315.330.4512 Richard.Linderman@rl.af.mil
Materials & Manufacturing Directorate - Wright-Patterson AFB, OH
Mr. Mark N. Groff 937 255 9836 mark.groff@wpafb.af.mil
Dr. Daniel B. Miracle 937.255.9833 daniel.miracle@us.af.mil
Munitions Directorate - Eglin AFB, FL
Dr. C. Michael Lindsay 850.882.1543 c.lindsay@us.af.mil
Dr. Mikel Mark Miller 850.882.3005 mikel.miller@us.af.mil
RQ/Chemistry and Chemical Tech - Edwards AFB, CA
Dr. Stephen L. Rodgers 661 275 5881 stephen.rodgers.ctr@edwards.af.mil
Sensors Directorate - Wright-Patterson AFB, OH
Dr. Brian Kent 937.528.8831 brian.kent@us.af.mil
Ms. Joanne Maurice 937.528.8841 Joanne.Maurice@us.af.mil
Dr. Stephen W Schneider 937.528.8831 stephen.schneider.1@us.af.mil
Space Vehicles Directorate - Kirtland AFB, NM
Mr. Gene Fosness 505 846 1790 eugene.fosness@us.af.mil
US Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs - USAF Academy, CO
Dr. James P. Solti 719.333.4195 james.solti@usafa.edu
NRC Program Administrator
Dr. Eric Basques 202-334-2707 ebasques@nas.edu
Copyright © 2014. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.