The National Academies Logo
Research Associateship Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies - NETL/MHFP

  Sign InOpen Printer View

Opportunity at Methane Hydrates Fellowship Program (NETL/MHFP)

Methane Hydrates Research Opportunity

Location

Methane Hydrates

RO# Location
AH.00.00.B9001 Pittsburgh, PA

Please note: This Agency only participates in the February and August reviews.

Advisers

Name E-mail Phone
Aneja, Viney VINEY_ANEJA@NCSU.edu 919-515-7808
Christofides, Panagiotis pdc@seas.ucla.edu (310) 794-1015
Colwell, Frederick rcolwell@coas.oregonstate.edu 541-737-5220
Dugan, Brandon dugan@mines.edu 303.273.3512
Dunn-Rankin, Derek ddunnran@uci.edu
Elgrishi, Noémie noemie@lsu.edu
Flemings, Peter B. pflemings@jsg.utexas.edu 512-475-8738
Gunduz, Aysegul agunduz@bme.ufl.edu 352.273.6877
Hess, Matthias mhess@ucdavis.edu 530.752.8809
Hohman, J Nathan jnhohman@lbl.gov 510.486.6155
Jeffrey, Shragge jshragge@mines.edu
Juanes, Ruben juanes@mit.edu 617.253.7191
Jurss, JW jwjurss@olemiss.edu 662.915.2003
Lesdter, Deranda dbrewer@memphis.edu 901.849.4668
Peccia, Jordan jordan.peccia@yale.edu
Peraza, Jessica jperaza@nu.edu 310-662-2130
Rosenthal, Yair rosentha@marine.rutgers.edu 848.932.3402
Sawyer, Derek E. sawyer.114@osu.edu 614.292.7243
Solomon, Evan esolomn@washington.edu 206.221.6745
Waite, William wwaite@USGS.gov 508-457-2346

Description

There are no specific Research Opportunities or Advisers, as methane hydrates research can be performed at any Federal laboratory or accredited University.

With respect to the energy production potential of gas hydrates, interest is in projects that will provide improved tools, methods, and information relative to the remote detection, characterization, and appraisal of production potential of methane hydrates.

With respect to gas hydrates as a part of the global environment, interest is in projects that provide an improved understanding of the processes that control the distribution, occurrence, and stability of gas hydrates in marine and permafrost settings.

For details, please see the NETL Methane Hydrates Fellowship Programs and An Interagency Roadmap for Methane Hydrate Research and Development.

 

Keywords:
Methane hydrates;

Eligibility

Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Graduate, Doctoral, and Postdoctoral Applicants

Stipend

Base Stipend Travel Allotment Supplementation
$60,000.00 $6,000.00

The Base Stipend which you see first, applies to Postdoctoral applicants only.

 

Masters Program Level:

$30,000 Base Stipend

$15,000 Supplement for Research Supplies

$1,000 Annual Experience Increment for Year Two

 

PhD Program Level: 

$35,000 Base Stipend

$20,000 Supplement for Research Supplies

$1,500 Annual Experience Increment for Year Two and Three

 

Postdoctoral Program Level:

$60,000 Base Stipend

$25,000 Supplement for Research Supplies 

$2,000 Annual Experience Increment for Year Two 

Experience Supplement:
Postdoctoral Associates will receive an appropriately higher stipend based on the number of years of experience past their PhD.

Copyright © 2019. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.Terms of Use and Privacy Policy