The National Academies Logo
Research Associateship Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies - NIST

  Sign InPrintable View

Opportunity at National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Optical Properties of Materials

Location

Physical Measurement Laboratory, Sensor Science Division

RO# Location
50.68.51.B7542 Gaithersburg, MD

Please note: This Agency only participates in the February and August reviews.

Advisers

Name E-mail Phone
Burnett, John H. john.burnett@nist.gov 301.975.2679
Germer, Thomas Avery thomas.germer@nist.gov 301.975.2876
Grantham, Steven E. grantham@nist.gov 301.975.5528
Hanssen, Leonard M. hanssen@nist.gov 301.975.2344
Levine, Zachary H. zlevine@nist.gov 301.975.5453
Litorja, Maritoni litorja@nist.gov 301.975.8095
Miller, C. Cameron c.miller@nist.gov 301.975.4713
Patrick, Heather Jean heather.patrick@nist.gov 301.975.4684
Shirley, Eric L. eric.shirley@nist.gov 301.975.2349
Tarrio, Charles S. charles.tarrio@nist.gov 301.975.3737

Description

Research opportunities are available to advance the measurement of properties of materials from the terahertz to extreme ultraviolet for applications in remote sensing, nanoscale science, microelectronics, photonics, color and appearance, medical imaging, homeland security, and defense. State-of-the-art research instruments are available for accurate measurement of such optical properties as reflectance, transmittance, scattering, emittance, and fluorescence in a variety of geometries using laser, lamp, and blackbody radiation sources. Specialized capabilities exist for light scattering ellipsometry, index of refraction, optical grating scatterometry, bidirectional optical scattering and reflectometry, polarimetry, spectroscopy, emissometry, and retroreflectometry. We are interested in efforts that develop new or improved measurement capabilities, standards, or applications.

 

Keywords:
Reflectance; Transmittance; Spectroscopy; Optical scattering; Refractive index; Scatterometry; Fluorescence; Emittance; THz;

Eligibility

Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Postdoctoral applicants
Copyright © 2014. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.