The National Academies Logo
Research Associateship Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies - NIST

  Sign InPrintable View

Opportunity at National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Ground- and Space-Based Remote Sensing

Location

Physical Measurement Laboratory, Sensor Science Division

RO# Location
50.68.51.B7541 Gaithersburg, MD

Please note: This Agency only participates in the February and August reviews.

Advisers

Name E-mail Phone
Arp, Uwe uwe.arp@nist.gov (301) 975-3233
Brown, Steven W. swbrown@nist.gov 301.975.5167
Grantham, Steven E. grantham@nist.gov 301.975.5528
Johnson, B. Carol cjohnson@nist.gov 301.975.2322
Maxwell, Stephen Edward stephen.maxwell@nist.gov 301.975.4950
Rice, Joseph P. joe.rice@nist.gov 301.975.2133
Shirley, Eric L. eric.shirley@nist.gov 301.975.2349
Woodward, John T. john.woodward@nist.gov 301.975.5495

Description

Research opportunities are available to advance ground-, air-, and space-based measurements of the Earth’s radiation, ocean color, temperature, aerosol levels, and other physical environmental variables. Such measurements require high accuracy to meet the stringent demands of climate research, land and environmental monitoring, and weather prediction. In collaboration with NASA, NOAA, and the USGS, NIST develops technology to advance the calibration and characterization of ground- and space-based infrared, optical, and temperature sensors to meet these demands. NIST also researches methods to improve physical environmental measurements made to complement or validate space-based measurements. The NIST effort is aided by specialized facilities, including the Facility for the Spectral Irradiance and Radiance responsivity Calibrations using Uniform Sources (SIRCUS), the Hyperspectral Image Projector (HIP) Laboratory, the Remote Sensing Laboratory, and the Synchrotron Ultraviolet Radiation Facility (SURF III).

 

References

Brown SW, Eppeldauer GP, Lykke KR: Applied Optics 45: 8218, 2006

Feinholz M, et al: Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology 26: 57, 2009

 

Keywords:
Remote sensing; Temperature record; Climate science; Ocean color; Sensor calibration; Radiation balance; Optical radiation; Satellite sensor;

Eligibility

Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Postdoctoral applicants
Copyright © 2014. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.