The National Academies Logo
Research Associateship Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies - NIST

  Sign InPrintable View

Opportunity at National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Separation Science Techniques for Trace Organic Analysis

Location

Material Measurement Laboratory, Chemical Sciences Division

RO# Location
50.64.61.B1712 Gaithersburg, MD

Please note: This Agency only participates in the February and August reviews.

Advisers

Name E-mail Phone
Bedner, Mary mary.bedner@nist.gov 301.975.4142
Benner, Bruce Alan bruce.benner@nist.gov 301.975.3113
Kucklick, John R. john.kucklick@nist.gov 843-460-9886
Lippa, Katrice Ann katrice.lippa@nist.gov 301.975.3116
Lynch, Jennifer Michelle jennifer.lynch@noaa.gov 843.442.2188
MacCrehan, William Ambrose william.maccrehan@nist.gov 301.975.3122
Phillips, Melissa Meaney melissa.phillips@nist.gov 301.975.4134
Phinney, Karen Williams karen.phinney@nist.gov 301.975.4457
Reiner, Jessica Lynn jessica.reiner@nist.gov 843.460.9894
Rimmer, Catherine A. catherine.rimmer@nist.gov 301.975.3651
Sander, Lane C. lane.sander@nist.gov 301.975.3117

Description

Research focuses on developing and applying separation techniques (e.g., gas chromatography [GC], liquid chromatography [LC], supercritical fluid chromatography [SFC], capillary electrochromatography [CEC], and capillary electrophoresis [CE]) for trace level determination of organic and organometallic compounds. Research interests include (1) developing extraction systems for selective removal of analytes from natural matrices (e.g., pressurized fluid extraction [PFE], microwave-assisted extraction, and solid phase microextraction); (2) developing chromatographic and electrophoretic approaches for sample preparation/cleanup and analyte preconcentration prior to analysis by LC, GC, SFC, CEC, or CE; (3) developing off- and on-line multidimensional separation procedures (e.g., LC-GC, LC-LC, and LC-CE) to measure individual species in complex mixtures; and (4) developing and using simultaneous multiple and/or selective chromatographic and electrophoretic detection systems (e.g., mass spectrometric, electron capture, flame photometric, ultraviolet-visible diode array, fluorescence, electrochemical, and chemical reaction detectors) to enhance measurement selectivity and/or sensitivity. Recent activities have emphasized applications in environmental, clinical, and forensic areas including the determination of (1) environmental contaminants such as polychlorinated biphenyls, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, pesticides, dioxins, toxaphene, flame retardants, and organometal species in natural matrices such as sediment, tissue, human serum and milk, and air particulate material; (2) nutrients such as vitamins and carotenoids in food and serum; (3) drugs of abuse in urine and hair; and (4) biomolecules such as proteins, peptides, and DNA fragments. Research opportunities also exist to apply these separation techniques to trace inorganic analysis problems.

 

Keywords:
Electrophoresis; Gas chromatography; Liquid chromatography; Supercritical fluid chromatography; Trace elements;

Eligibility

Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Postdoctoral applicants
Copyright © 2014. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.