The National Academies Logo
Research Associateship Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies - NIST

  Sign InPrintable View

Opportunity at National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Neutron Reflectometry

Location

NIST Center for Neutron Research

RO# Location
50.61.01.B1994 Gaithersburg, MD

Please note: This Agency only participates in the February and August reviews.

Advisers

Name E-mail Phone
Borchers, Julie A. julie.borchers@nist.gov 301.975.6597
Dura, Joseph A. joseph.dura@nist.gov 301.975.6251
Grutter, Alexander alexander.grutter@nist.gov 301-975-4198
Kirby, Brian J bkirby@nist.gov 301.975.8395
Majkrzak, Charles F. charles.majkrzak@nist.gov 301.975.5251
Maranville, Brian Benjamin brian.maranville@nist.gov 301.975.6034
Satija, Sushil K. sushil.satija@nist.gov 301.975.5250

Description

We use neutron reflectometry to study a variety of fundamental physical and chemical phenomena at solid-solid, liquid-liquid, solid-liquid, and solid- or liquid-gas interfaces. By measuring the specular reflectivity as a function of glancing angle, we can determine both chemical and magnetic density profiles normal to the surface. We can also measure nonspecular scattering, from which we can derive in-plane information. Systems of interest include polymer films, magnetic thin films and multilayered structures (using polarized beams), superconducting films (magnetic penetration depth measurements), lipid bilayers, Langmuir-Blodgett films, metal hydride films, and electrochemical surfaces (in situ studies in active cells).

 

Keywords:
Interfaces; Reflectance; Thin films;

Eligibility

Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Postdoctoral applicants
Copyright © 2014. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.